Section Officer (Admission Blay Not 1882 March 23-12-29

F.No. 10-1/2024-Min-II GOVERNMENT OF PAKISTAN CABINET SECRETARIAT CABINET DIVISION

Islamabad, the 23rd December, 2024

CIRCULAR

Subject: PUBLIC AND OPTIONAL HOLIDAYS FOR THE YEAR 2025

The public and optional holidays on days of national significance and festivals of Muslims and minorities in Pakistan for the calendar year 2025 would be as under:-

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS

S.No.	Name of Occasion	Days	Dates during year 2025
1.	Kashmir Day	Wednesday	5th February, 2025
2.	Pakistan Day	Sunday	23rd March, 2025
3.*	Eid-ul-Fitr (1st Shawal 1446 A.H.)	Sunday, Monday & Tuesday	30th , 31st March and 1st April, 2025
4.	Labour Day	Thursday	1st May, 2025
5.	Youm-e-Takbeer	Wednesday	28th May, 2025
6.*	Eid-ul-Azha (10 th Zil Haj 1446 A.H.)	Saturday, Sunday and Monday	7th, 8th & 9th June, 2025
7.*	Ashura (9th & 10th Moharram 1447 A.H.)	Saturday & Sunday	5th & 6th July, 2025
8.	Independence Day	Thursday	14th August, 2025
9.*	Eid Milad-un-Nabi (12 th Rabi-ul- Awwal 1447 A.H)	Friday or Saturday	5th or 6th September, 2025
10.	Allama Iqbal Day	Sunday	9th November, 2025
111.	Quaid-e-Azam Day/ Christmas	Thursday	25th December, 2025
12.	Day after Christmas	Friday	26th December, 2025 (For Christians only)

2. The following will be bank holidays. However, on these days the Banks/DFIs/MFBs will remain closed for public but **NOT** for their employees:

Sr.No.	No. Day/ Date		
1.	1st January, 2025 (Wednesday)		
2.*	1st March, 2025 (Saturday) corresponding to 1st Ramazan 1446 A.H. deduction of Zakat(subject to appearance of moon)		
3.	1st July, 2025 (Tuesday)		

Cont'd

DS/A)

33/12 50(A)

OPTIONAL HOLIDAYS

Sr.No.	Name of Occasion	Days	Dates during year 2025
1.	New Year's Day	Wednesday	1st January, 2025
2.*	Shab-e-Meraj (27th Rajab 1446 A.H)	Tuesday	28th January, 2025
3.	Basant Punchami	Sunday	2 nd February, 2025
4.*	Shab-e-Barat (15 th Shaban 1446 A.H)	Friday	14th February, 2025
5.	Shivaratri	Wednesday	26th February, 2025
6.	Holi	Thursday	13th March, 2025
7.	Dulhandi	Friday	14th March, 2025
8.	Baisakhi	Sunday	13th April, 2025
9.	Good Friday	Friday	18th April, 2025
10.	Easter/ Day After Easter Sunday	Sunday & Monday	20th & 21st April, 2025
11.	Eid-e-Rizwan (Bahai's Community only)	Monday	21st April, 2025
12.	Buddha Purnima	Monday	12th May, 2025
13.	Nauroze (Parsi New Year's Day)	Friday	15th August, 2025
14.	Chehlum (20th Safar 1447 AH)	Friday	15th August, 2025
15.*	Krishna Janam Ashtami	Saturday	16th August, 2025
16.	Birthday of Lord Zoroaster (Khordad Sal)	Wednesday	20th August, 2025
17.	Durga Puja .	Tuesday	30th September, 2025
18.	Dussehra	Thursday	2 nd October, 2025
19.*	Giyarvee Shareef (11th Rabi- us-Sani 1447 A.H)	Saturday	4th October, 2025
20.	Birthday of Guru Valmik Sawami Ji	Tuesday	7th October, 2025
21.	Diwali	Monday	20th October, 2025
22.	Birthday of Guru Nanak Dev Ji	Wednesday	5th November, 2025

Man

^{*} In case of Muslim festivals, the dates of holidays are based on anticipated dates and are subject to appearance of moon for which a separate notification will be issued by the Cabinet Division.

^{3.} No optional holiday shall be granted to any government servant without prior permission of the Head of the Organization and no government servant shall be granted more than <u>one optional holiday in the case of Muslims</u> and <u>three optional holidays for non-Muslims</u> in a calendar year.

- 4. The grant of this concession should not result in any dislocation of work. In the case of Muslim optional holidays, the number of persons permitted to avail optional holidays should be regulated in a manner so that adequate staff is available for proper continuance of the work. The optional holidays are denominational and may be allowed at the discretion of the Head of the Organization, provided that work does not suffer.
- 5. A government servant should not ordinarily be refused an optional holiday that is of religious significance.

(Kamran Ali Afzal) Cabinet Secretary

The Principal Information Officer, Press Information Department, Islamabad

Copy to:

- 1. Federal Ministers
- 2. Attorney General for Pakistan, Islamabad
- 3. Ministers of State/ Advisors/Special Assistants to Prime Minister
- 4. The Auditor General of Pakistan, Islamabad
- 5. Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan, Islamabad
- 6. Secretary to Prime Minister, Prime Minister's Office, Islamabad
- 7. Secretary to President, President's Secretariat (Public), Islamabad
- 8. Secretaries/Additional Secretaries (In-charge) of Ministries/Divisions, Islamabad / Rawalpindi
- 9. Secretary, Wafaqi Mohtasib's Secretariat, Islamabad
- 10. Secretaries Senate and National Assemblies Secretariats, Islamabad
- 11. Chairman, National Accountability Bureau, Islamabad
- 12. The Director General, Inter-Services Intelligence, Islamabad
- 13. The Director General, Intelligence Bureau, Islamabad
- 14. The Director General (Staff Duty), General Headquarters, Rawalpindi
- 15. The Director General (Ops), Joint Staff Headquarters, Rawalpindi
- Chief Secretaries of Provincial, Azad Jammu & Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan Governments
- 17. Inspectors General of Police of Provincial, Azad Jammu & Kashmir & Gilgit-Baltistan Governments
- 18. Chairman, Capital Development Authority, Islamabad
- 19. Chief Commissioner, Islamabad
- 20. Inspector General of Police, Islamabad
- 21. Secretary, Wafaqi Tax Ombudsman Secretariat, Islamabad
- 22. Accountant General Pakistan Revenues, Islamabad
- 23. The Registrar, Supreme Court of Pakistan, Islamabad
- 24. The Registrar, Federal Shariat Court, Islamabad
- 25. The Registrar, Islamabad High Court, Islamabad
- 26. The Manager, State bank of Pakistan, Islamabad
- 27. All Departments of Cabinet Division including Director IT
- 28. PS to Cabinet Secretary / All Additional Secretaries, Cabinet Division

(Muhammad Aqib Gulzar) Section Officer (Min-II)